So You Want to Write a Children’s Book

Peter Carver’s book is a mere 124 pages. It could easily get lost on the bookstore shelves, but that would be a shame.

So You Want to Write… overflows with practical information for both writers and illustrators.

Carver’s bite-sized chapters for writers include Why are You Writing for Children? and Waiting for the Reply. (His advice…keep writing.) For illustrators: Working as an Illustrator and Getting Hired. For both: How to Find a Publisher and Should You Get an Agent?

While it is most appropriate for the novice, beginners and experienced professionals alike will benefit from the lists of organizations, government cultural programs and grants, etc.

I glanced at So You Want to Write… at the Write! Canada conference in June. Although I was there to pitch my idea for a children’s chapter book, I decided against purchasing the book.

I reconsidered, however, when the leader of a workshop I attended recommended it. As an acquisitions editor, she had given us a lot of practical advice on writing for children. When she recommended Carver’s book, I knew it would be a good idea to take a second look. And I’m glad I did. I’ve read it and am now looking forward to checking out many of the resources.

If you’re looking for an easy read that makes the industry of children’s books more accessible, this is for you.

Leave a Reply

