Refresh

What a wonderful title!

I’m refreshed just looking at the cover. Slices of grapefruit, orange, lemon, and lime overlap one another.

Funny how I came to purchase this book…Ron Hughes, the author, came up to me at the Write! Canada conference and handed me the bookmark for Refresh. “Shameless self-promotion” he called it…tongue-in-cheek of course. “If I find a $10 chicken,” I teased. (Suffice it to say, the lady who runs the bookstore is a chicken farmer.)

You guessed it. I found the chicken–and bought the book. I’m so glad I did.

The subtitle of Refresh is 19 Ways to Boost Your Spiritual Life. Lessons such as Pray, Study Your Bible, and Worship are to be expected. But I’m personally thankful that the first two chapters stress the importance of quiet, not just external, but internal quiet as well. When I’m not talking (it does happen from time to time), my mind is still going a million miles an hour.

I’m just learning the benefit of telling the many ideas that flit around my brain to sit down and wait their turn. I’m also learning to enjoy the outdoors, where I can enjoy a sense of peace, where my computer and my housework aren’t constantly calling. At least, it they are, I can’t hear them.

Each brief chapter of Refresh begins with a dramatized Bible story written in the first person.  The story is followed by a look at what exactly the lesson is and how it applies to us. The chapters also include potential pitfalls and words of encouragement.

Refresh is not a book to rush through. It is a book filled with lessons we must drink in, apply, and allow to change our lives.

3 thoughts on “Refresh

Leave a Reply

