Everything I Need to Know I Learned from a Children’s Book

Is it OK to review a book I haven’t read yet?

I sure hope so.

Everything… caught my eye when I was at the bookstore today, and I just had to bring it home.

When I babysat, I would go to the library and bring home stacks of picture books. I came across some that were brilliantly written, books I was sure I enjoyed and appreciated far more than the children did. I would still love to have a collection of my favourites, despite the fact that my youngest is 21 and I haven’t babysat in years.

Obviously, I am not alone in my belief that children’s books have much to teach us. Many, from Roger Ebert to Stan Lee to Beverly Cleary, agree. These are only three of the “notable people” whose comments appear in Everything…

Not to worry if you haven’t read the books they refer to. In most cases, an excerpt and a biography of the author appear next to the readers’ comments. It’s great. I especially like the fact that they also include a picture of most of the book covers, many of which I recognize even if I haven’t read the books.

Burnet’s The Secret Garden, Seuss’s Horton Hatches the Egg, and Lewis’s The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe are among the books that have taught lessons about imagination, morality, and wonder.

Some I haven’t even heard of, books like Taylor’s Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, Rylant’s Waiting to Waltz, and Burton’s The Little House. They make me want to tuck myself away in a corner of the children’s library and read for an afternoon. I just may have to do that.

If you love children’s books–or are willing to at least give them a chance–Everything… may be just the book to launch you into the wonders awaiting you in their pages.

Leave a Reply

